1: Welcome to Our Fucking Podcast

In our first episode, we interview each other about ourselves and our wedding businesses. We talk about the worst and best things we’ve encountered at LGBTQ+ weddings. We also dispense our best wedding planning advice for LGBTQ+ couples and tell you why we are making this podcast.

Find us:

Amanda and Amanda Summerlin Photography at http://www.amandasummerlin.com/

Cindy and Aisle Less Traveled at https://www.aislelesstraveled.com

Let’s talk about that “Ain’t No Nookie Like Chinookie” magnet.

Look, I thought this was a treasure when I saw it in the bathroom of our Airbnb, but this truly is a gift that keeps on giving. Google revealed the band Ray Troll & The Ratfish Wranglers, who wrote a little ol’ song called… “Ain’t No Nookie Like Chinookie.

A quick listen to the hit single, as performed live at Salmonfest 2015, revealed that we were, indeed, mispronouncing the name. We thought it was “CHIN-ook” but based on this song, we should be saying “SHIN-ook”. Sorry, Chinook.

Band member Ray Troll is also a visual artist, and created the image, which you can aquire on a magnet, t-shirt, or poster.

Dead Naming and Some Resources for Transgender Folks:

What is dead naming? How does it affect transgender people? What can you do to help?

How to Be Human: Talking to People Who Are Transgender or Nonbinary

National Center for Transgender Equality

Transgender Law Center

Trans Lifeline

US: (877) 565-8860
CANADA: (877) 330-6366

Trans Lifeline operators are available 18 hours a day every day of the week.

Pacific time: 8am to 2am
Mountain time: 9am to 3am
Central time: 10am to 4am
Eastern time: 11am to 5am
Alaska time: 7am to 1am
Hawaii time: 6am to 12am

LGBTQ+ Wedding Planning Advice from This Episode:

Steel yourselves, because you will have to have awkward and sometimes painful conversations with potential vendors to make sure they are welcoming to LGBTQ+ couples.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.